ESOL Basic 60 for Category II Teachers - SP25

Online registration opens on Mon, Dec 30, 2024.

Mon, January 6, 2025 - Thu, July 31, 2025

Contact Ginny Murph
Target Audience Category II Teachers (Social Studies, Mathematics, Science and Computer Literacy)
In-Service Points 60
Delivery Online (Moodle)
Fee $145.00 member districts + Hernando, Madison, Monroe, FSU Lab / $195.00 non-member districts
This course assists teachers in developing knowledge, skills, and attitudes to enable them to effectively identify and instruct Limited English Proficient (LEP) students. This 60-hour course fulfills the Florida DOE's ESOL training requirements for Category II teachers.

This is a self-paced, facilitated course. The course is completely online and requires no face-to-face meetings or specific dates/times required to be online. This cohort (Spring 2025 Cohort) begins January 6, 2025 and will end on July 31, 2025. An email with login information and instructions for accessing the course is sent by 4:30 PM on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays after the course start date.

The average time to complete a 60 hour course is 10 weeks but the course is self-paced so you can choose to finish quicker than the 10 weeks or can choose to take a little longer if needed as long as the coursework is finished by the course ending date.

NEFEC's courses are for inservice points and are not college level courses. The Florida Department of Education will not accept NEFEC's courses if they are submitted by an individual for recertification. They must be submitted through a district as part of its approved Professional Learning Catalogue. Participants are responsible for following their district’s requirements to obtain inservice credit. If you are unsure if your district will accept courses offered through NEFEC, you will need to check with your district Staffing Development office.

For information on the ESOL requirements for each teacher category, please visit our ESOL Courses webpage.

*NOTE: NEFEC Member districts include: Baker, Bradford, Columbia, Dixie, Flagler, FSDB, FSU Lab School, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Hernando, Lafayette, Levy, Madison, Monroe, Nassau, PK Yonge, Putnam, Suwannee, and Union.